TWC Recognizes Student Nominated Internship Supervisors

TWC Recognizes Student Nominated Internship Supervisors

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Christian Holm
April 22, 2016

The Washington Center hosted more than 80 internship site supervisors and their interns for the spring 2016 Internship Supervisor Award Reception on Wednesday, April 20. Rokas Beresniovas of the State Bank of India (California) received this semester’s Internship Supervisor Award. Beresniovas was nominated by interns Calvin Pratama from Earlham College, Zixiao Nie from Tsinghua University and Jasmeet Kaur Sandhu from Mount Royal University.


Beresniovas is one of more than 500 internship supervisors who pledge to uphold TWC’s Internship Bill of Rights. TWC established the guidelines in 2014 to empower interns and ensure they get the most from their internships. The Internship Bill of Rights encourages interns to think about the impact of the internship on their professional plans before their work even begins. It stresses the value of academic collaboration and gives employers a tool to measure the effectiveness of their own internship programs.


TWC thanks all of its internship sites and supervisors for a successful semester, particularly these individuals whom students nominated for the spring 2016 Internship Supervisor Award:


Angela Acampora, Whitmer & Worrall

Leslie Adelman, MentorPrize Inc.

Matthew Alcide, Inscape Publico

Liliana Allen, Offender Aid and Restoration

Alan Anderson, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Enrique Arnaez, Inter American Defense Board

Julio Barducci, Mil Mujeres

Judith Baroody, Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training

Rokas Beresniovas, State Bank of India (California)

Patrick Burns, U.S. Navy

Miyonna Campbell, Kenneth J. Annis & Associates

Jessica Carey, The Chwat Group

Chris Carrara, Evans & Katz

Cecilia Castillo, D.C. Mayor's Office on Latino Affairs

Susana Castillo, D.C. Mayor's Office on Latino Affairs

Lynne Colbert, Federal Trade Commission

Salvatore Colleluori, Media Matters for America

Amanda Cooke, National Association of State Foresters

Deborah Durham, Univision Network

Arya Etebarian, Amber Road INC

Steven Garza, Department of Commerce

Richard Gilmore, GIC Group

Ingrid Gutierrez, D.C. Mayor's Office on Latino Affairs

Jonathan Hall, D.C. Office of the Attorney General - Public Safety Division

Paul Hammer, Izar Capital Group

Johnetta Hardy, Network For Teaching Entrepreneurship

Samantha Hogenson, Center for Responsible Travel

Joe Hursey, Smithsonian National Museum of American History

Geoffrey Ingersoll, The Daily Caller News Foundation

Emily Kalos, Mississippi Consortium for International Development

Brandon Karkovice, The Alliance for Consumer Education

Nick Kourtesis, Mid-Atlantic Sports Consultants

John Madigan, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Kristen Malinconico, Grant Thornton LLP

Lindsey Mask, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Federal Occupational Health

Thomas McCarthy, The Potomac Advocates

Arne Mielken, Amber Road

Tom Netting, Akerman LLP

Katie Nolan, JWM Productions

Jason Ortega,

Meja Petchel, Special Olympics

Amber Pierdinock, The Federal Practice Group Worldwide Service

Carla Portalanza, Embassy of Ecuador

Andrew Ransome, U.S Department of Labor

Rosemary Reed, Double R Productions

Talmesha Richards, STEMconnector

Donna Vincent Roa, Securing Water for Food

Patricia Scherschel, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Mary Siegfried, Rockville, Montgomery County Office of the Public Defender

Rose Spero, Polaris Project

Sareeta Spriggs, Serve DC - The Mayor's Office on Volunteerism

Cari Stein, PBS - To the Contrary

Kathleen Struck, Voice of America

Courtney Tolbert, Iona Aging Services

Jason Van Buren, The Abraham Group

Frederick Velez III, Rep. Jose Serrano (D-NY)

Jane Charles-Voltaire, International Association of Women Judges

John Walker, Voice of America

Maj. Michael Weeks, National Defense University

Elizabeth Welke, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Lin Whitehouse, Rep. James Clyburn (D-SC)

Melanie Wilhelm, Peace Corps

Michael Williams, Central Union Mission

Terese Winegan, NESA

Karen Wren, U.S Marshals Service


To view photos from the award ceremony, click here

Experience a Day in the Life of an Intern at The Washington Center

Learn More