Summer Internship Supervisors Recognized for Mentorship

Summer Internship Supervisors Recognized for Mentorship

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Christian Holm
August 10, 2015

The Washington Center thanked several dozen internship sites and supervisors for outstanding service to its Summer 2015 interns at the Supervisor Award Reception on Wednesday, August 5.


Held at Washington’s noted Old Ebbitt Grill, the event celebrated recognized sites that embody TWC’s values and supervisors who pay special attention to cultivating students’ personal and professional development.


Farzan Tebyanian of United Way International received the Summer 2015 Most Outstanding Internship Supervisor Award. He expressed his gratitude to be associated with the other 50 individuals nominated for the recognition by their interns.


“It’s an honor not just to receive this award, but to work with such talented interns,” he said. “Interns really do run this city. It was not long ago that I myself was an intern, so I have a great appreciation for what they do.”


Steffen Canino, a student at Northern Illinois University and Tebyanian’s intern at the United Way, said Tebyanian provided the kind of guidance and mentorship that encouraged him to intern in Washington in the first place.


"Farzan always encourages me to go above and beyond, whether it’s staying late to finish a marketing project or sitting in on meetings outside of my internship focus,” Canino said. “Having a supervisor who values my work ethic and gives me the opportunity to showcase my talents was invaluable.“


Tebyanian is one of more than 500 internship supervisors who pledge to uphold TWC’s Internship Bill of Rights. TWC established the guidelines in 2014 to empower interns and ensure they get the most from their internships. The Internship Bill of Rights encourages interns to think about the impact of the internship on their professional plans before their work even begins. It stresses the value of academic collaboration and gives employers a tool to measure the effectiveness of their own internship programs.


TWC thanks all of its internship sites and supervisors for a successful semester, particularly these individuals whom students nominated for the Most Outstanding Supervisor Award (TWC alumni are noted by class year):


Mustafa Akhwand, Shia Rights Watch

Kattis Åstrom, Youth for Understanding

Shwanda Barnett, D.C. Public Schools

Teresa Biagioni, D.C. Public Schools

Jocelyn Bissonnette ’08, National Association of Federally Impacted Schools

Lisa Bowen, American Legislative Exchange Council

Gloria Braddock, SRB Communications

Barbara Brown, Service Women's Action Network

Christopher Bulbulia, The Congressional Chorus

Janet Butler, United Way Worldwide

Adele Cehrs, Epic Media Group

Bin-Giang Cheung, U.S. Marshals Service

Susan Cieslinski, United Service Organization

Brian Collins, Amber Road

Laura Douglas, RedEye Post

Nick Fetchko, Verizon

Max Gigle ’08, Office of U.S. Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA)

Jen Domagal-Goldman, The American Association of State Colleges and Universities

Rebecca Grandi, MWH Global/Hawksley Consulting

Dani Gudakunst, International Association of Chiefs of Police

Fatima Gul, Sindhi American Political Action Committee

Janis Hazel, Serve D.C. - The Mayor's Office on Volunteerism

Amy Hinojosa, MANA - A National Latina Organization

Samantha Hogenson, Center for Responsible Travel

Greg Jacobs, Service Women's Action Network

Abbas Kadhim, The Institute of Shia Studies

Lisa Johnson, United Service Organization

John Madigan, The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Sarah Martin, The Association of Performing Arts Presenters

Lindsey Mask, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Federal Occupational Health

Erica McCann ’09, Federal Procurement and IT Alliance for the Public Sector

John McDonald, U.S. Marshals Service

Matthew Miller, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Kevin Morgan, The Potomac Advocates

Matt Mullins, International Economic Development Council

Regina Murphy, United Planning Organization

Wamite Muthara, United Way Worldwide

Tom Netting, Akerman LLP

Jalonne White-Newsome, WE ACT for Environmental Justice: D.C. Office

Elisa Ortiz ’02, Justice at Stake

Mariana Pardo, U.S. Small Business Administration

Sandie Preiss, Arthritis Foundation

Bill Rausch, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Rosemary Reed, Double R Productions

Donna Vincent Roa, Securing Water for Food

Shelley Robinette, Verizon

Dania Rodriguez, Association of State and Territorial Solid Waste Management

Betty Rogers, College Summit Inc.

Drew Sample, Wilson Center

Kelly Sheridan ’08, DuPont

Robert Sherretta, International Investor

Ashley Speaks, Carpenters Shelter

Kyra Stewart, Office of the Secretary of Transportation

Farzan Tebyanian, United Way Worldwide

Cynthia Turner, SeraphimGlobal

Pamela Weinberg, Serve D.C. - The Mayor's Office on Volunteerism

Elizabeth Welke, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Rachael Wilkinson, Studio Theatre

Beth Williams, United Way Worldwide

Laura Youngs, NARAL Pro-Choice America

Laura Zaim, WorkAmerica


To view photos from the reception, click here

Experience a Day in the Life of an Intern at The Washington Center

Learn More