Grace Rivera '09 Recognized as Outstanding Fall Internship Supervisor

Grace Rivera '09 Recognized as Outstanding Fall Internship Supervisor

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Christian Holm
December 08, 2015

The Washington Center hosted several internship site supervisors nominated for outstanding service to its Fall 2015 interns at the Internship Supervisor Award Reception on Wednesday, December 2.


The event recognized internship sites and supervisors who went the extra mile to cultivate students’ personal and professional development – embodying TWC’s core values and enriching the heart of an academic internship program: the internship itself.


Grace Rivera ‘09 of the U.S Marshals Service received this semester’s Most Outstanding Internship Supervisor Award. Rivera, who frequently gives her time to TWC's law and criminal justice students, credits her own experiences as a TWC intern for an empathetic perspective that helps her guide interns toward successful internships.


“I think being an alum myself really helps me supervise my interns because I know what they went through. I want my interns to see the big picture at the end of their internships, which is what helped me when I started as an intern. It’s what will help them follow through with their goals.”


Rivera is one of more than 500 internship supervisors who pledge to uphold TWC’s Internship Bill of Rights. TWC established the guidelines in 2014 to empower interns and ensure they get the most from their internships. The Internship Bill of Rights encourages interns to think about the impact of the internship on their professional plans before their work even begins. It stresses the value of academic collaboration and gives employers a tool to measure the effectiveness of their own internship programs.


TWC thanks all of its internship sites and supervisors for a successful semester, particularly these individuals whom students nominated for the Most Outstanding Supervisor Award:


Lilianna Allen, Offender Aid & Restoration

Wanda Almanzar, U.S. House of Representatives

Kattis Astrom, Youth for Understanding International Secretariat

Judy Baroody, Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training

Rokas Beresniovas, State Bank of India

Jocelyn Bissonnette ‘08, National Association of Federally Impacted Schools

Randy Brown, National Coalition for Homeless Veterans

Christopher Bulbulia, Congressional Chorus

Teresa Chapa, National Hispanic Medical Association

Kelsey Cohen, Edelman Berland

Lynne Colbert, Federal Trade Commission

Mike Colonnese, WorkAmerica

Courtney Cook, American Legislative Exchange Council

Jennifer Crane, U.S Marshals Service - Asset Forfeiture Division, Strategic Planning & Communications Team

Bethany Demmin, Family Research Council

Lylie Fisher, Iona Senior Services

Beth Fitzpatrick, Arlington Catholic Charities Migration and Refugee Services

Charlotte Gendron, Public Religion Research Institute

Andre Luiz Grenteski, Inter-American Defense College

Tyrone Harris, D.C Metropolitan Police - Crime Scene Investigations Division

Janis Hazel, Serve DC – The Mayor’s Office on Volunteerism

Saranah Holmes, Daily Do Good, LLC

Traci Jenkins, Ventana Production

John Madigan, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

Barry Margeson, Eastern Market

Connor Martin, The Charles Group, LLC

Mike Miron, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Genevieve Morton, Office of Rep. Grace Meng

Javier Munoz, Pan American Health Organization

Jason Ortega,

Elisa Ortiz ‘02, Justice at Stake

James Partlow ‘12, D.C Department of General Services

Ana María Peláz, Mil Mujeres

Meja Petchel, Special Olympics

Thomas Pollak, The Urban Institute

William Ramos, U.S. Department of Commerce

Andrew Ransome, U.S Department of Labor, Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs

Talmesha Richards, STEMconnector

Grace Rivera ‘09, U.S Marshals Service

Donna Vincent Roa, Securing Water for Food Technical Assistance Facility

Tracy Rollins, Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration

Karla Pineda-Santos, Labor Council for Latin American Advancement

Elizabeth Shaffer, Curley Company

Katie Shaver, Shared Hope International

Bryan Snell ‘08, U.S Marshals Service

Liam Starr, Office of Sen. Mark Kirk

Marta Tewolde, International Rescue Committee

Nandi Turner, Public Allies D.C

Rhina Villatoro, National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators

Silvia Villarreal, Embassy of Mexico

Héctor A. Castro Vizcarra, Embassy of Mexico

Terese Winegan, Near East South Asia Center for Strategic Studies

Anderson Wells, Studio Theatre

Michelle Williams, The Polaris Project


To view photos from the award ceremony, click here

Experience a Day in the Life of an Intern at The Washington Center

Learn More