The Alan K. Simpson-Norman Y. Mineta Leaders Series

The Alan K. Simpson-Norman Y. Mineta Leaders Series

Javascript is required to view this map.
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Mar 26, 20121:00 PM
1005 3rd Street, NE, Washington, DC
Other Info: 

Blinken Auditorium, TWC Residential & Academic Facility (RAF)


Dress Code

Business professional


About the Speakers

Kate Lehrer

Ms. Lehrer has written four novels including Best Intentions, When They Took Away the Man in the Moon, Out of Eden and Confessions of a Bigamist, as well as short stories, essays and book reviews.  Her work has received outstanding reviews and Out of Eden won the Western Heritage Award for outstanding fiction.


Ms. Lehrer is a frequent panelist on the Diane Rehm Show’s “Reader’s Review” on National Public Radio, and she has been a guest on a number of national television shows.  She participates in wide range of literary organizations and often speaks at book club meetings and other events.  A founding member of PEN/Faulkner, she now serves on the organization’s Writers in Schools Advisory Board.  She also has been active in the Washington Literacy Council.


Ms. Lehrer lectures at colleges and universities and serves on the Board of Visitors at TCU’s AddRan College of Humanities and Social Sciences, as well as the advisory council for the Arts and Sciences at George Mason University.  With Jim Lehrer, she was keynote speaker at the AddRan College Board of Visitors lunch in 2003 and was a participant in the inaugural Schieffer Symposium last year.


Ms. Lehrer previously has been recognized with honorary Doctors of Letters degrees from Goucher College and McDaniel College.

Read full bio


Jim Lehrer

Executive Editor & Anchor--PBS

Host of "The News Hour with Jim Lehrer" on PBS, Jim Lehrer has been honored with numerous awards for journalism, including the Chairman’s Award at the 2010 National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences News & Documentary Emmy Awards, the 1999 National Humanities Medal, presented by President Bill Clinton and First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton, and in October 2011, the National Press Club presented him with their top honor, the Fourth Estate Award. In 1999, Lehrer was inducted into the Television Hall of Fame with MacNeil and into The Silver Circle of the Washington, DC, Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. He has won two Emmys, the Fred Friendly First Amendment Award, the George Foster Peabody Broadcast Award, the William Allen White Foundation Award for Journalistic Merit and the University of Missouri School of Journalism’s Medal of Honor. In 1991, he was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Read full bio


Larry D. Lauer


Larry D. Lauer is a pioneer in integrated marketing and strategic communication for academic institutions and nonprofit organizations. From 1999 to 2009 he served as TCU’s first vice chancellor for marketing and communication, and was executive director of its strategic planning initiative, The Commission on the Future of TCU. In 2009 he became TCU’s first vice chancellor for government affairs. In addition, he is distinguished professor of strategic communication at TCU’s Schieffer School of Journalism and an adjunct fellow at the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) in Washington, D.C. Currently he also serves as strategic marketing advisor to the American Council on Education (ACE).

Read full bio


Additional Information

* Disclaimer Events are exported in the Apple iCalendar file format (.ICS). Any changes to the events will not show up on downloaded .ICS files. You will need to download and import the file again to see any changes. The .ICS format can be consumed by most modern calendar systems like Google Calendar ( directions ) and Microsoft Outlook ( directions ).

Experience a Day in the Life of an Intern at The Washington Center

Learn More